Mt. Adams History
Nestled high above downtown Cincinnati and the beautiful Ohio River, for more than 200 years, historic Mt. Adams has shared a rich and fascinating history with the City of Cincinnati. Named after President John Quincy Adams, who in 1843 delivered the dedication address for what was then known as the world’s most powerful observatory (now site of the Monastery), the Hill has long enjoyed a tradition of fine wine, art and entertainment.
During the early 1800’s, Nicholas Longworth, who owned all of Mt. Adams, met with great success cultivating the Catawba grapes used in making his famous champagne known as Golden Wedding. For a brief period in history, Mt. Adams was at the center of wine making in America!
Art came to Mt. Adams in 1892 when Maria Longworth Stroer moved her pottery factory to the Hill. The grand-daughter of Nicholas Longworth, Maria created a unique style of ceramic finishes and tints which she named Rookwood Pottery. Quickly, it became internationally proclaimed for its jewel-like porcelain finishes and still treasured by collectors today.
Entertainment reached its peak with the opening of the Highland House in the 1870’s featuring concerts, three-day bike races, and even prize fights. The Highland House, on the site of the current Highland Towers, often hosted 5,000 people for lunch on summer Sundays. Although now only a memory, good things still prevail on the site and around the corner on St. Gregory Street.